Not-for-profit quality care for over 25 years
Close this search box.

Nominations have opened – Enter the Markel 3rd Sector Care Awards today!

Nominations have opened – Enter the Markel 3rd Sector Care Awards today!

Nominations have opened for the Markel 3rd Sector Care Awards 2019. Now in its sixth year, these free-to-enter Awards celebrate all those working in the not-for-profit support sector, including charities, community interest companies, and informal community groups.

The focus of the Markel 3rd Sector Care Awards has always been on the work and efforts put in by the nominees, celebrating not just their achievements, but also their passions, ethics and dedication to the people they support – formally or more informally. This year, the ethos of the Awards will be no different, rewarding the sector’s most committed people at a lunchtime ceremony in London.

With 12 categories, the Awards look to celebrate as much of the hard work in the voluntary care sector as possible. A new Dementia Care Award has been added for 2019, to find and showcase exemplary work in this area, while other categories invite people to share their innovations, reward exceptional care and appreciate outstanding leadership.

The full list of categories is as follows:
• Leading Change, Adding Value Award for Compassion.
• Innovative Quality Outcomes Award.
• Contribution to Sector Development Award.
• Community Engagement Award.
• Creative Arts Award.
• Citizenship Award.
• Leadership Award.
• Technology Award.
• Making a difference Award.
• Dementia Care Award.
• End of Life Care Award.
• Collaboration (Integration) Award.

The nominee could be anyone, from a chief executive, a chef, a care worker or someone running a local club, to an entire organisation or group. People can enter themselves or someone else and can make nominations in multiple categories.

The entry process is designed to be as simple as possible. Those nominating will need to answer a few questions on what they or their nominee are doing and send any supporting evidence to to be put forward to the judging panel.
Finalists are then chosen by passionate judges, including experts by experience, before an opportunity for the nominee to meet the judging panels and talk about the work they are doing.

Des Kelly OBE, Chair Centre for Policy on Ageing and formerly Executive Director of the National Care Forum was involved in setting up the Markel 3rd Sector Care Awards with CMM. He says, ‘Over the last five years, the Awards event has quietly become a social occasion in the care sector calendar…Attending is without doubt an emotional experience and the pride in personal and team contributions is tangible. Not everyone can win, but all the finalists bring to life the amazing work that the best social care can represent. Good luck to everyone applying in 2019!’

Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony in London on Friday 6th December, attended by around 250 people invested in the not-for-profit care and support sector, and will receive an article in CMM Magazine to share their initiative and passions, as well as full social media coverage, an opportunity to share their stories on a national stage, and more.

Go to to submit your entry today, and follow the progress of the Awards on Twitter: @3rdSectorCare #3rdSectorCareAwards

Share post...